RPC Endpoint Mapper (RpcEptMapper) Service Defaults in Windows 8

Resolves RPC interfaces identifiers to transport endpoints. If this service is stopped or disabled, programs using Remote Procedure Call (RPC) services will not function properly.

Default Settings

Startup type: Automatic
Display name:RPC Endpoint Mapper
Service name:RpcEptMapper
Service type:share
Error control:normal
Group:COM Infrastructure
Object:NT AUTHORITY\NetworkService
Path:%SystemRoot%\system32\svchost.exe -k RPCSS
Registry key:HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\RpcEptMapper
  • SeChangeNotifyPrivilege
  • SeImpersonatePrivilege
  • SeCreateGlobalPrivilege

Default Behavior

RPC Endpoint Mapper is a Win32 service. In Windows 8 it is starting automatically during the operating system startup. Then the RPC Endpoint Mapper service runs as NT AUTHORITY\NetworkService in a process of svchost.exe, sharing it with other services. If RPC Endpoint Mapper fails to start, the error details are added to Windows 8 error log. When the operating system startup is complete, the user is being notified that the RpcEptMapper service hasn't been started.


All the services listed below will not start if RPC Endpoint Mapper is disabled:

Restore Default Startup Configuration of RPC Endpoint Mapper

1. Run the Command Prompt as an administrator.

2. Copy the commands below, paste them into the command window and press ENTER:

sc config RpcEptMapper start= auto
sc start RpcEptMapper

3. Close the command window and restart the computer.

The RpcEptMapper service is using the RpcEpMap.dll file that is located in the C:\Windows\System32 directory. If the file is removed or corrupted, read this article to restore its original version from Windows 8 installation media.